Twitter is making it easier to declutter your inbox and flag direct messages from users you don't know.
If your Twitter account is set up to accept direct messages from everyone, it will now sort messages from people you don't follow. Like Facebook and Instagram, incoming DMs from people you don't know will now go into a separate Requests inbox for review. This gives you more control over which conversations appear in your inbox and which users to engage with.
The Requests inbox appears as a tab in the Messages screen. When you open a DM, you have the choice to accept or delete the message, or leave it for future review. The sender won't know you've seen the message until you hit Accept. By accepting a message, you can now DM with the user and Twitter will move the request to your main inbox.
Deleting a message will remove the conversation from the inbox. However, it does not prevent the user from sending you future DMs. To stop a user from sending you messages, you'll need to mute or block the account or report the conversation.
Note that all media will be hidden until you accept the message. You can also tap the View Media button to preview photos and videos, so you don't have to accept the message to see what's in it.
The Requests feature also works for group conversations – if someone you don't follow adds you to a new group conversation, the thread will appear in your Requests tab.
If you are already communicating with someone you don't follow, your conversation will remain in your main inbox.
Twitter's new DM Requests feature is available on Twitter for iOS and Android right away and is coming to Twitter.com soon.