1. Business Ideas
  2. Business Plans
  3. Startup Basics
  4. Startup Funding
  5. Franchising
  6. Success Stories
  7. Entrepreneurs
  1. Sales & Marketing
  2. Finances
  3. Your Team
  4. Technology
  5. Social Media
  6. Security
  1. Get the Job
  2. Get Ahead
  3. Office Life
  4. Work-Life Balance
  5. Home Office
  1. Leadership
  2. Women in Business
  3. Managing
  4. Strategy
  5. Personal Growth
  1. HR Solutions
  2. Financial Solutions
  3. Marketing Solutions
  4. Security Solutions
  5. Retail Solutions
  6. SMB Solutions
Product and service reviews are conducted independently by our editorial team, but we sometimes make money when you click on links. Learn more.
Grow Your Business Technology

Dropbox for Business: Top 3 Features

Dropbox for Business: Top 3 Features
Dropbox for Business adds better security features. / Credit: Dropbox

Dropbox has long provided a solid cloud storage platform for individuals. Now a new subscription option improves the platform's offerings for small businesses. The new version of the service, dubbed Dropbox for Business, adds better security and additional ways for administrators to manage employee accounts. It costs $795 per year for a five-person team, and an additional $125 per year for each additional user. Subscribing means your business can use Dropbox for collaboration and file backup, with less risk of private and sensitive data being compromised. Dropbox for Business also makes it easier for individuals to use their personal and business accounts side by side. Read on for a closer look at three features that make the service good for work.

Linked personal and work accounts

With Dropbox for Business, a user can stay logged into both a personal Dropbox account and a business account at the same time on any supported device, including iPhones, Android Phones, Macs and PCs. Previously, users could only access one Dropbox account at a time. When saving a file to the cloud, users can simply select which account they wish to use. Personal and business accounts remain separate to maintain security; users must sign into each account individually, and each account has a unique password. But the ability to log into both at once eliminates the need to log in and out of different accounts throughout the workday.

Remote wipe

Dropbox for Business gives administrators the ability to remotely wipe accounts, which they may need to do for a variety of reasons. For example, when an employee leaves, it may be necessary to wipe an account to keep the company's private data secure. Additionally, administrators may need to wipe an account if a mobile device such as a phone, tablet or laptop computer is lost or stolen.

Account Transfer

With Dropbox for Business, administrators can now transfer ownership of a Dropbox account from one employee to another, or to a new employee. This feature can come in handy when someone is promoted to a new position, or when an employee quits or leaves.

Brett Nuckles
Brett Nuckles

Brett Nuckles has been a working journalist since 2009. He got his start in local newspapers covering community news, local government, education and more before he joined the Business News Daily staff in 2013. He graduated from Ohio University, where he studied Journalism and English. Follow him on Twitter @BrettNuckles.